good will toward men
posted on October 03, 2002 @ 2:06 am

"stars" (orchestral), dubstar

i miss jonathan. just thought i'd let you know. he hasn't called in like three days (he did once to leave a message that he couldn't talk), and when i've called he didn't talk. i wanna talk to jo-nathan. :(

layla was sick the other day, feverish and puking, so i took her sour "smittles" cause she loves them. then tonight i called her while i was at taco bell, and when she squealled for a burrito i bought her one. did i mention her birthday present to me was the boxcar racer ticket?

last night jenn was really sick, so i rubbed mentholatum stuff on her chest and back and nose, gave her tylenol sinus jonathan gave me, a multi-vitamin, a cough drop, then at 2 a.m. went to h.e.b. to get her orange juice (with lots of pulp cause she likes it), more cough drops, and cough syrup. this morning when i got home from class i made her chocolate chip pancakes. when i got home from work around midnite, she had a halloween card for me that says, "knowing someone like you puts a little touch of magic into my life." it's got two little witchy mice on the front. she wrote, "thank you for taking care of me and listening when i was incoherent!" and drew one of her signature smiley faces. she also got me six sheets of halloween stickers, two each of spongebob, dora the explorer, and powerpuff girls. :) that made me feel really good.

yesterday at the post office, a guy dressed up in slacks and a long-sleeved dress shirt held the door open for me, actually stood outside holding it waiting for me. i told him thank you, quietly because i kind of felt like i was blushing, and he responded, "you're welcome!" quite sincerely. i wanted to give him a hug and tell him he made my day, but i didn't. why can't everyone do things like that?

that night at 6:30, i called a store called the book case store because i need a new book case. the guy said that he closed at 7:00, but he's painting the store and promised to be there. i felt bad because i didn't get there til 6:54, but he said, "wow, that was quick." i stood in front of one of the tiny houses he owns for his business while he continued to paint. he asked my opinion on the colors, which were very nice: one house is getting three shades of green, the other three shades of blue. he talked about how long it had been since he painted and some other stuff, then stopped painting. he patted my back, introduced himself as john, and took me into the blue house. a beautiful, large dog came to greet me, and he said she had to come see who was visiting and get to know me. he told me about his book cases, the prices, how he made them all, never had complaints or repairs needed. i was wearing a shirt i got at goodwill that has the superman s on it and says "las super tejanas." he commented on it, and i pointed out where i bought it. then he talked about painting again, how the last time they served gin and tonics to everyone and he got ripped. he says he doesn't drink much anymore. i kept playing with the dog, being eyed by another, larger dog from a back room. he talked to me about the dog, then i politely excused myself. the book cases were too expensive, but he was so nice.

a couple of weeks ago, layla, jennifer and i went to see my big fat greek wedding and then snuck into an elvira movie. a guy sat in front of us who was completely tattooed with puzzle pieces and had large horns underneath his forehead. he wore glasses just like mine. :) i commented on his tattooes, and he offered me popcorn. layla and i took some, we all talked a little, he gave us more, and then the movie started. why can't everyone be so friendly?

the other day i emailed an advisor about linguistics and english, and he wrote back, "dear pyxopotamus aka chelsea star" (my email says it's from chelsea *), then proceded to answer my question and ask, "and what in god's name does 'pyxopotamus' mean?" layla said, "see, you'd never find someone with such humor in the computer science department. hmph."

don't even get me started on my middle english teacher.

yesterday in toy joy, i bought a really awesome ring. the guy was like, "this is $2.95, but we'll just say it's $1.95. how's that?"

once again i ask myself, why can't everyone do things like that? that's why i love this city: the normal, everyday people you meet? they're all fabulous because they're just as poor as you are. longview's just full of rich snobs. if you find someone here who's an asshole to you, it's because they're from places like longview. they've never lived a day without their mommies, they sit on their ass doing nothing, taking mommy and daddy's new cars and fat wallets. they're the people who don't have jobs and think we who do are piss-ons. well fuck you, ok? i hate to be so immature about it, but you lazy-ass people who do nothing but take money that's not yours, expect to work the days you want to work and only that, whine and cry when you have to work a weekend? bright eyes is playing friday with a 15-piece orchestra. i've waited two years for the opportunity to see conor, but i work til midnite. even if i didn't work, i have literally zero dollars because i had to pay rent. fuck you people who have it easy.

i'm off for bed now; i've got an awful headache, and typing without my glasses doesn't help.

"but as the stars are going out, and this stage is full of nothing, and the friends have all but gone, for my life, my god, i'm singing. we'll take our hearts outside, leave our lives behind, and watch the stars go out."
<3, pyx.

prev - next