makes the crunchy granola girls all moist
posted on Wednesday, Aug. 23, 2006 @ 06:04

"teenager," deftones

i found this in my old livejournal. the musings of a 17-year-old chelsea (7/19/01):

today we hiked a little of mt. rainier. oh man, it was the best experience of my life thusfar. the silence in those peaks...ah, it's like the dramatic silence in a movie before a bomb explodes, except there's no bomb up there, just infinite peace...

as the day went by clouds started rolling in very quickly, and they were the billowy clouds you want to bounce all over if only they weren't just water vapor. i went up a trail about a quarter of a mile by myself, so i could be super high and in a cloud. on my way down, i stopped, facing the "frozen lake," and just stood there. i closed my eyes and breathed as little as possible (the thin, cold air was killing me!!). all i could hear was one little bird way in the distance...and absolutely nothing else. if i had been alone, i would have lain down right there in the dirt and stayed until dark. at that moment i didn't give a fuck about the rest of the people with me down at the bottom waiting for me, i didn't give a fuck that my ears hurt like i had never experienced, i didn't give a fuck that i probably looked weird as hell standing utterly still on the side of a mountain with my eyes closed. at that very moment i felt infinite. i've always said that i have before, while listening to beautiful music, but absolutely nothing in the world compares to the way i fealt at that very moment. and of course i started crying. what would a life-altering moment with me be without tears? :)

...i really wish that every one of you could witness that. not just pictures of it, not just stories, but be there in the great wide open with the very bowels of the earth thrust up underneath your feet. when we first got to giant rocks, i lay on one and stayed there, out-stretched. i told them i was absorbing the energy from the rock, and my step-dad said it didn't have energy. if only he knew...

prev - next