i'm a toys r us kid
posted on January 24, 2005 @ 10:20 am

i am, quite literally, a toys r us kid, since doug's the store director.

anyhoot, i was thinking about this last thursday.

it's interesting to me how people are content�and seem to prefer�wearing plain clothes, little to no accessories, and having undecorated and un-patterned possessions. i think in reality i'm the weird one, since the majority of people enjoy normality in their appearance. there are obvious exceptions, those who put me to shame (whom i really envy), but they're even more of a minority.

the reason i was thinking about this was one of my customers, as his credit card was processing, said, "you sure are colorful today." at first i thought he was talking about the picture of dinosaurs i was coloring, but then i realized he was looking at me. i looked down at myself and said, "well, i try."
"you got your fingernails, your shirt..."
"my earrings. :fingers them:"
"yeah, you're very colorful."
"but see, it's all balanced by my plain white skirt so it's not too overpowering."
"and that blue goes well with your skirt."

aside from the fact i was having a conversation with a heterosexual middle-aged man about my fashion decisions, this amused me. once he left i really looked at what i was wearing. i had on yellow fingernail polish, a long-sleeved pink shirt beneath my blue work shirt, earrings that are multi-colored interlocking squares, another pair that are minnie mouse heads, a watch with a massive red dinosaur head, various little multi-colored bracelets, a large blue bracelet, and what he couldn't see was that my flip flops had neon green, pink, and yellow stripes on them. not to mention my glasses' frames are a deep purple. i wasn't even wearing rings, and my necklace was my simple black cord with a carved backwards n on it (for trent, of course), not to mention my skirt, though big and flowy and hippy-esque, was white.

today is pretty close to that. same watch, bracelets, fingernails, earrings, pink shirt, blue work shirt. i've got houndstooth fabric around my head like a headband, excess from a pair of pants i bought. i borrowed owen's cool olive cargo pants, donned my blue corduroy shoes, an inch-and-a-half wide red and orange stegosaurus ring, and another with an orb in the center of frilly metal work (i call it my tiarra ring).

to me this isn't really that bad. in high school i was wearing nine rings at a time, so at least i've toned that down. if a five-year-old girl could pick out anything she wanted to wear, i think she'd look something like me.

outside: the fashion indulgences of a five-year-old girl.
inside: the simple pleasures of a five-year-old boy.

i don't know why, but the idea of wearing a shirt without any sort of pattern or picture is horrifying to me. owen said i shouldn't change because i'm "superb," and questioned, "What other girl would wear a boy's skull-and-crossbones shirt?" i'm sure there are quite a few, but i actually considered buying two in case something happened to one. i never want to be without that shirt.

it's funny how the main reason people have kids are for lame, serious reasons like showing them love, the wonders of life on earth, blah blah crap, whereas i think they'd be cool to hang out with. i need to get another part-time gig at a daycare. the three-year-olds, they're the best.

and it's not just clothes. i spent a couple hours converting my auntie anne's mug, once hideous and covered in old flags, into a jungle where snake (of metal gear solid) is hunting a monkey. there's even a river running through it, with fish in it. my cars have always been covered in stickers (though not evelyn as much since she's the first nice car i've had; she's got four, though). my backpacks are always covered in buttons, patches, and words sewn with yarn. i fell in love with my bright red plaid suitcase when i saw it lying on a seattle sidewalk. hell, i'm even wanting to buy a vinyl sticker for my xbox.

[ADD kicks in]

something strange that happened this weekend is that i awoke with a terrible pain in my foot. a few days ago owen awoke with one in his toe, so he's been limping and walking slowly. he has no idea where it came from cause he didn't stub it or anything. then saturday i awoke with my foot hurting. it's gotten a little worse, and i can feel it moving up my leg the more i walk on it. my limping is causing my right knee to hurt, too. tima's been chasing spirits the past couple days, but i really can't imagine one of them having a good time at the expense of our well-being.

well, i'm sleepy, so i'm going to go play nes roms. i downloaded them all onto my profile here at work, and my controller lives here now so stephanie can play them overnight (i downloaded them onto her sign-on also). i'm considering making a copy to leave up here for anyone who wants to have them. i know working at night is unfun.

<3, chels

prev - next