peachy keen, jelly bean
posted on July 29, 2004 @ 5:08 pm

"i hate the sun," owl & the pussycat

hello. how are you? i'm excellent. no reason, just a sudden surge of i-love-my-life. these don't happen very often, and usually there's nothing to prompt such a feeling.

i woke up this morning at 8:00, then 9:00 and 10:00, 10:30, and finally got out of bed at 11:00 since my body felt it necessary to be awake. there's a place called capitol mattress across the street from my apartments boasting queen sets for $168 on their marquee.

i mean, really, it's across the street (red = me, crudely-drawn green = them). i walked down to the light at buell (a block south of penny lane) to cross, just to make sure i didn't get squished by traffic. it was a really great day today. it couldn't have been much more than 80, which now that i keep my ac around 80/82 that feels nice. it's all a matter of conditioning, i've found. the clouds were grey and keeping direct sunlight from me, and it felt wonderful to walk around. it reminded me of living in the dorms, when i was forced to bus and walk everywhere, piling up several miles a day. i bet that's why i never gained any weight.

anyhoot. the cheap mattress was cheap for a reason. it was very soft and springy and down right annoying, so she showed me another that was just $30 more. still not quite wonderful, but then she mentioned she had one like it in a pillow top. my ears perked and my tail started wagging (in the alternate reality wherein chelsea is a dog, though many would argue i am already a bitch), so i sprawled out on the twin version of the pillow top. the set in queen would be $239, frame $25, delivery $25. i don't know if it's just me, but that sounds damn cheap.

that perked me up, and on my way home i dared to jaywalk burnet. which, usually, isn't a big deal because the traffic comes in waves. the whole trip took 20 minutes.

i considered driving south on burnet then back north to my home looking at the thrift stores and consignment shops. i could easily hit ten doing that. i did some preventative work and stayed home, considering i don't have money to waste on that crap, not to mention i have too much crap of my own i haven't even thrown out yet.

the kitties and i curled up on the couch and watched tv instead. i used tima as a pillow, and soon janeane curled up next to her and used my arm as a pillow. it was adorable in too many ways to count.

last night i swept the bathroom and kitchen, unloaded/loaded the dishwasher, and today i vacuumed the living room and my futon. cleanliness smelling of watermelon always makes a virgo happy.

i made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, poured fruit punch kool-aid into a thermos, and added cereal and cheez-its to my new hot wheels lunch box. on my way to work, the sun had come out some but just enough to make everything just look nice. the glare of the top drawer thrift store sign made it quite pretty, and i thought to myself, i love this place.

now it's storming, thunder and all. didn't expect that! i can even smell it through the little tray in my window. :deep breath: awesome. i want to be able to inject the feeling i have when it rains and owl & the pussycat's self-titled album into me every day. it would keep me feeling wonderful for a long time.

now it's back to stuffing envelopes. this may sound unexciting, but i get paid boat loads to do it, not to mention i get medical for $6.22 a month and dental for $10.--. september 1st, when i can use my dental, will be a joyous day! (so says the 35-year-old mom in me).

"just like the fires on the street when i walk down the street."
<3, chels

prev - next