early-morning dicrimination
posted on July 01, 2004 @ 7:44 am

i don't like when there's a credit card machine available to the customer, yet we're not supposed to use it.

at the pharmacy, they at least tape up the part where you slide your card with a note telling you to give it to the cashier.

at the bp gas station across the street from my new apartment [exodus], however, there isn't. it's sitting there asking to be used, and god knows the man running it doesn't know enough english to tell you otherwise. he yelled at someone trying to get coffee, and i'm still not sure what he said. all i heard was "20 minutes."

(what's funny is that when i mentioned my new address to sibyl, she said, "and there's that gas station run by some asians. it always smelled like old people up in there. :laughs:" apparently a family member of hers used to live in my apartments. i don't detect the odor, however.)

anyway, it was $2.78 just like the other morning (diet coke, blueberry muffins, peanut butter m&ms�when i work double shifts i provide myself with sugar). i had cash tuesday, though, and when i slid my card through nothing happened. he merely extended his hand trying to take my card from me.

i wish he were nicer. early in the morning i'm always in such a good mood; it's one of my favorite times of day, and even if i get little sleep i can be perky. he has put a little damper on two of my days now, and since he can't even smile or anything when i say "hi" and "thanks," the fact he doesn't know english annoys me.

like stupid people. if you're happily stupid, or if you acknowledge you're stupid, then it's okay. well, not okay, but i can tolerate it.

if you don't speak english but you're really nice, then it's okay. if you don't speak english and you're a surly ass clown, you need to go back home until you learn the damned language of the country in which you desire to live.

sorry, it's one of my more hostile pet peeves.

now i must go download more music. last night there was an issue wherein for some reason it said my webspace was full (though it wasn't even half so), and that put a halt on things. mmm...free music.

"one two, one two, this is
just.
a.
test."
<3, chels

TULSA, Oklahoma (AP) -- Six puppies were killed, apparently by fireworks placed in their mouths, shortly after teenage boys were seen carrying Roman candles in a north Tulsa neighborhood. i didn't read that because the headline alone makes me want to cry. you should read it, though, and then say to yourself, "yes, this is why chelsea despises most of humanity."

prev - next