bookstores, owen, and books. my life consists of little more
posted on April 05, 2004 @ 10:37 pm

my interview apparently went well with borders, so i had another today with the manager. i had to do one of those stupid automated phone interviews asking, "have you ever told a lie?" "how much merchandise have you stolen in the past year? $1-10? $10-20? none." "have you figured out ways to steal merchandise from work but didn't?" fuck you, i don't steal. for the most part.

owen said he'd sent me something, and friday after my interview i received:


&

!!!

there has been an inundation of owen lately. every other night, literally, i have a dream about him. friday afternoon he called to wish me luck in my interview: 15 minutes. friday night i called him to thank him for my stuff and tell him about my interview: 2 hours. saturday i talked to him online while at work: couple hours. sunday he called after the simpsons like he always does: 1.5 hours. he sent me a text message tonight asking about my interview and claiming i make him melty, so i came up here to talk to him.

"What struck me was the fact that, as I listened to her detail the thunder and lightening she'd seen outside while laying in my darkened bedroom, I'd realized that Chels has the most adorable, liquefying voice ever. :swoon:" (it must have been because i was just half asleep, and everyone sounds interesting in that state. ;) )

as pleasant as all this is, it's rather frustrating. yet at the same time of being frustrated, i'm strangely ok with not being able to see him. i've brainwashed myself into believing something will happen and whatever that something is it's for the best, so i sit in my own owen-infested world day in day out, drunk off hope. oh well, nothing else to do.

if i get that job, however, i'll be able to stand in the cafe of borders learning coffee jargon and overcharging caffeine addicts. i'll have a new setting to my staring off and thinking.

i went to the library this afternoon after my interview hoping to find requiem for a dream. i couldn't find it and instead left with:



i own jane eyre, but it's intimidating, with giant pages that take me six minutes to read. i got a smaller, fatter version (much resembling me, eh?). the middle one's by chuck, too, lullaby.

"yeah, this is how i chose to spend a free afternoon. posing here with a monkey putting chestnuts up my ass."
<3, chels.

p.s. in the shopping center behind my old apartments, just half a mile down the road from where i now live, a dead guy was found in the parking lot. classy neighborhood i tell ya.

prev - next