Hart Crane
posted on March 04, 2004 @ 9:34 am

The Hive
Up the chasm-walls of my bleeding heart
Humanity pecks, claws, sobs and climbs;
Up the inside, and over every part
Of the hive of the world that is my heart.

And of all the sowing, and all the tear-tendering,
And reaping, have mercy and love issued forth.
Mercy, white milk, and honey, gold love�
And I watch, and say, "These the anguish are worth."

Carrier Letter
My hands have not touched water since your hands,�
No;�nor my lips freed laughter since "farewell."
And with the day, distance again expands
Between us, voiceless as an uncoiled shell.

Yet,�much follows, much endures . . . Trust birds alone:
A dove's wings clung about my heart last night
With surging gentleness; and the blue stone
Set in the tryst-ring has bust worn more bright.

[upon rumination, i've decided being called someone's "pretty black rainbow" is the cutest thing ever.]

prev - next