adventures of the gasoline faery and her rodents
posted on October 17, 2003 @ 4:29 pm

"36 degrees," placebo
"pilot can at the queer of god," flaming lips
"black dove (january)," tori amos
"ultra anxiety (teenage style)," madder rose
"run," new order

fate's a lovely thing when, you know, it's lovely.

this morning around 4:00, i started getting undressed for bed when i remembered wanting to find a shipping place on 6th. my way of avoiding pissing people off and missing my destination (especially on a one-way street) is to seek it out in the middle of the night so when i go the next afternoon when there's traffic, i know just where to turn. anyway, i got re-dressed and set out for w. 6th.

as it turns out, i ended up passing it anyway because i was just caught up in thoughts. i was listening to summer teeth by wilco and decided to not ruin the nice moment: i continued on to mopac and headed north. when i approached the 183 exit, something made me brake hard so i could get into the exit lane at the last moment. i thought of continuing north on 183 but then remembered it just leads to lampassas and other smaller cities. i got off at the capital of texas highway (loop 360, where my towers are, where i've been the past few nights) and stopped at the overpass light next to a black man, a white man, and their quiet car.

i rolled up my window; it was just after 4:00, so there weren't that many people around. nonetheless, when the black man approached my car i let down the window. he asked if i had any change or a dollar because they'd run out of gas. as i started my money-hunting quest, he went to the car two lanes over to ask. when he returned, he commented on my cds, i told him i've got around 250, and we started talking about that. all i could find outside of pennies was 50 cents, so i gave it to him and apologized. he thanked me and said god would bless me, and i drove off through the light just as it turned yellow.

right about that time is when i remembered i had two one-gallon gasoline containers in my trunk. also just then was when i realized rich neighborhoods don't have gas stations. i'm driving around the arboretum searching for anything, then get back onto 183's frontage road. i pass up an unmanned set of pumps and keep going hoping to turn around soon. at my turn around, however, there's an exxon. i filled the two containers with $2.27 worth of gas, placed them in my passenger floorboard, and hurried back to the men.

during all of this, i've run about four or five red lights. i feared they'd set off in search of gas, which was over a mile away, and i'd show up to a lone car. having run the final red light near them yet waiting for a second (i saw the opposite light turn yellow and didn't want to push my luck, having just seen a cop), i saw the men watch me pass as i parked in a shopping center near them. i grabbed my gasoline and started walking over, going through wet grass (which was dumb considering i was wearing slippery plastic shoes) instead of the sidewalk to quicken my arrival.

when they realized it was me, the white man started walking toward me, and the black man exclaimed, "oh god, is that her? oh god, is that her!" i announced, "it's the gasoline faery!" and told the white man i totally forgot i had my containers as he took the one from my left hand. walking back to the car, i said the same to the black man as he opened up the tank beneath the license plate.

as i walked back to my car, i heard him crank his own. the first try was a failure, but the second brought success. he gave it gas to keep it running then turned to cross the overpass, honking (presumably) at me.

on another, less happy note, mom's being a little jerk-y about oobi. i was going to go home tomorrow, but she said she didn't want me to bring oobi with me. i told her if it were tima or janeane i wouldn't even be leaving the house; i'm glad i get a chance to come home and i can bring oobi with me. she told me not to, but i may anyway. i would hate to not be there for her when she goes. i know mom's thinking, "she's just a hamster." at least she has the tact not to say as much.

after my mourning period, i was thinking of getting a medium rat, you know, one that would fit in oobi's cage. it's a really nice cage that cost $50, so i want to put it to good use. i'd love a giant rat, but she'd require another, larger cage. i should just let her run around and play with the cats; she'd be nearly as big as tima. ;) i would get several small mice, but i don't think they're big enough to go through the tubing.

my tooth is killing me, so that excuses me from thinking of some quote.
<3, chels.

prev - next