enough to take your oxygen away
posted on September 18, 2003 @ 7:55 pm

"pink maggit," deftones

last night i went to visit raja (layla's cat) at the animal hospital. dentler went, too. before we left, she showed us the blood spot on the road. it's huge and in a perfect circle. it's truly creepy, so naturally i told her to take pictures. she said she wanted to, and wanted some of raja, but she hadn't taken any yet.

the hospital's very close to her apartment. we got there around 10:30 p.m., half an hour before visiting hours are over. there was no one there, and only three other dogs in the back that i could see, so everything was quiet and had a real somber air to it. a small tv in the waiting room played seinfeld.

when i saw raja, i almost started crying. his nose and mouth are covered in blood. his right eye is swollen so much he can't close it. his left eye is hard for him to keep open. his mouth doesn't close all the way. the towels and newspaper in his cage were covered with splotches of blood. his cage had a solid, plastic door so they could pump oxygen in for him. at one point the doctor picked him up for layla to see him completely, and he made the most depressing sound. it was so far from a meow; it sounded like a high-pitched cat moan. when he did that, it made me tear up again. the doctor gave him another shot to dope him up so he couldn't feel, and then raja did that circle thing cats do to adjust himself, settled down, and went back to sleep i guess, if that's what he was doing (i couldn't tell because of the open, clouded, dented eye).

i stayed at layla's for a while, listening to her doctor's visit. the doctor told her she has the common cold, and that's so fucked up. she gets bronchitis all the time, and we know that's what she has now. the doctor wouldn't give her antibiotics, though. and on top of all this drama she had a test today she had to study for.

this morning jennifer yelled to wake me up at 9:00, and then a few minutes later mom called to make sure i was up. i called emachines about my still-not-present monitor, and they told me it should be here by monday. bah.

jennifer missed a class and went with me to the vet. the vet was talking about pancreitis and how if it gets fucked up it'll start digesting itself. he showed me a picture and i yelled, "aah!" he gave her a shot of antibiotics, and told me to feed her this special prescription food and give her more antibiotic drops. when i get to the place to pay, the chick asks, "do you want to go ahead and get the bag of food?"
"how much is it?"
"let's see. for four pounds it's...$11.32."

at this i loudly yell, "jesus christ!" jennifer starts laughing, and i think i frightened some nice christian women in the back office. she told me the total was $151.[change], and my mouth just opened. i didn't have the ability to even utter an expletive. jennifer paid for half of it, though, so that was awesome of her. the assistant, kurt, took the food out to my car. apparently i don't appear strong enough to schlep a four pound bag of cat food to the car, but he was nice so i let him follow us. he said, "nice day, isn't it?"
"it is, actually. it just needs to be cooler. i hate the sun."
he just sort of looked at me and didn't say anything. i wonder if he was being sarcastic?

on my way to campus to drop her off for her other class today, jennifer starts bashing some chick in a car based on her driving, calling her a "dumb bitch." finally i just laughed and pointed out that spending money makes her irritable.

as i lay wallowing in my poverty, however, owen called. his named seemed resplendent on my cell phone screen. ha, sorry, i just wanted to use "resplendent;" it popped into my head just now. i found owen avenue off 34th, down the street from layla's apartments.

mom called a little after three to see how it had gone, and when i told her how much it'd costed she shouted, "oh.my.god!!" i yelled up the stairs at jennifer what mom had said, and she yelled back, "i've been irritable all day!" haha.

cole stopped by and talked to me for a while this afternoon, and i felt a surge of special-ness. he did need to use the computer and was parked here anyway, but the fact remains he stayed longer to talk. heh.

hot, a british guy just came to my window. "it's no charge if i leave straight away?" man.

"I want to come. And I know where you live. I even have a nice little spot in the bushes outside your window where I like to sit with binculars and exotic spices...I don't think I was suppose to tell you about that, was I?" -cole

<3, chelsea.

prev - next