to: chelsea-kun (a.k.a. jaye oakes)
posted on September 02, 2003 @ 7:20 pm

soo

i got a postal itch today. i always know when packages arrives for me. i gotst one today avec une lettre en jolie �criture. :purrs: sneaker pimps... i also got hellsing soundtracks, doom, and other goodness. servicio el�ctrico! we got nearly the same doorhanger, actually, when we got switched over a few months ago.

now i'm just waiting on my edgar allan poe books. i know he got the check; i saw it on my bank's website.

i wrote a letter to the big people at work in response to them saying we have to have doctor's notes when we call in sick; if we don't have one, we can't return to work until we do. layla called me very distressed, so i wrote it since she was too scared to:

Jeri,

Now that I am no longer a student of UT, I can not afford to go to a doctor for a note.

Finances aside, however, if someone were to become ill on the weekend, there are no doctors to visit. Last weekend when I couldn't work Friday or Saturday due to my recommencement of a prescription drug, there was little I could do about getting around the house, much less getting a note from a doctor or pharmacist validating the side effects of that drug. If this had begun on a Sunday or Monday and continued on for three days, as it did last week, what would I have done on Wednesday or Thursday when I needed to work again? Even if I were a student and could have gone to the SSB for free, an appointment would have had to been made; I couldn't call Wednesday morning, come right before work, and then go to work with a note. In addition, by the time I would have been well enough to visit a physician, the symptoms clearly would have ceased; otherwise I would still have been bedridden, suffering.

I'm just concerned regarding what we should do if we get a "bug" or random, unexplained illness. My body, since I was born, has had a history of becoming sick for no reason. I have migraines at least once a month; thankfully they've usually worked their way around work, or they just begin at work and I can trudge through the shift, being so accustomed to them. I can vomit all day for no reason. My family has spent thousands of dollars trying to find what is wrong with me, but doctors have only given condolences, not answers. In general it doesn't bother me, having lived with it, but when it interferes with my job it undoubtedly evinces concern.

I can understand Bobby's need of justification when employees are absent, but I would also appreciate some rationality. On my way to a doctor I have no money for, should I just bring along a bucket for my vomit? And I'm sure my roommate wouldn't mind carrying me to the taxicab when I'm rendered motionless by a migraine.

I was also just curious about the mandatory 24 hours a week. Is it working so we deserve the benefits?

Thanks,
Chelsea.

prev - next