the smiths
posted on June 19, 2003 @ 7:40 pm

["asleep," the song that's on all good mix tapes at least once. :grin: i wish you knew what that meant.]

sing me to sleep. i'm tired, and i want to go to bed. sing me to sleep, and then leave me alone.

don't try to wake me in the morning cause i will be gone.

don't feel bad for me. i want you to know deep in the cell of my heart i will feel so glad to go.

sing me to sleep. i don't want to wake up on my own anymore.

don't feel bad for me. i want you to know deep in the cell of my heart i really want to go.

there is another world. there is a better world.

well, there must be.

bye bye.

-

[when i heard this first, i was 16. "half a person" excerpt.]

call me morbid, call me pale. i've spent too long on your trail, far too long chasing your tail. and if you have five seconds to spare then i'll tell you the story of my life. sixteen, clumsy and shy. that's the story of my life.

-

[part of "i know it's over"]

if you're so funny, then why are you on your own tonight? and if you're so clever, then why are you on your own tonight? if you're so very entertaining, then why are you on your own tonight? if you're so very good looking, then why do you sleep alone tonight? i know. because tonight is just like every other night. that's why you're on your own tonight with your triumphs and your charms while they are in each other's arms. it's so easy to laugh. it's so easy to hate. it takes strength to be gentle and kind. it's over. love is natural and real but not for such as you and i, my love. oh mother, i can feel the soil falling over my head.

prev - next