my first angry letter to the new apartments
posted on Saturday, Aug. 11, 2007 @ 12:50

August 11, 2007

Why is there construction going on at 8:00 a.m. on a Saturday? We all need a break on the weekend. No matter where we go in our apartment, we hear these guys putting that pipe in near the property line. Or whatever they're doing.

This is ridiculously inconsiderate. Loud lawn care is only done during the week, so why is some guy with a POWER TOOL mere feet from our bedroom window on a Saturday morning? It would be one thing to have them show up at noon because really, we should be out of bed by then anyway. But 8:00 a.m.? Are you kidding me? We wake up at 5:00 a.m. during the week. We think we deserve some SLEEP on the weekend. Not to mention the fact I nearly had a heart attack when I heard their racket at 8:00 and my poor sleepy brain thought, "Shit! It�s not Saturday!� We'd rather sleep an extra four hours than see whatever inconspicuous improvement this pipe will make in our life here.

I work in purchasing and deal with contracts all day. As the entity purchasing the vendor�s services, the vendor has to comply with your every request. If you gave them a deadline to complete this job but didn�t point out, �Please don�t harass the people who pay me thousands of dollars every month,� your lawyers need some serious guidance. Please don�t let them ruin next weekend as well. My 74-year-old grandmother will be sleeping in our bed during her visit.

This is coming off very harsh, but I�ve been suffering from insomnia for two weeks. I had finally exhausted myself and was looking forward to sleeping all day. Now I�m merely sleep-deprived, have a killer headache, and am so angry I want to go throw water on these creepy men who stare at me every time I walk through the parking lot. Now that my angsty vent is over, we seriously request that you take your residents into consideration when you�re contracting something so loud. We�ve been listening to this noise for five hours, and we�re about to go insane.

update months later: i never turned it in.

prev - next