it takes 10 to tango
posted on Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006 @ 23:14

as promised by myself, saturday i bought some russian vodka and drank it. a lot of it. kristen was there. i haven't seen her since that whole snafu last year. it was good to see her; she's so funny. i didn't take many pictures, though.


that's dana's semi-new kitten mia, who is so freaking cute. (that's jennie's boyfriend michael, by the way).


the neighbors were up, too, but much quieter.


various foots. mine are the one in flip flops. the main one is cole's. let's take a closer look at that.


nice.

i went to the gyno today because my pms has been getting increasingly worse over the past year and a half. before i started taking birth control pills, my pms was really crippling. i would just lie in bed all day, and i was completely non-functional socially (even moreso than usual, if you can imagine). when i started birth control pills, it got marginally better. i talked to my past gyno, she switched me to my current whore pills (ovcon 35), and instantly it was magnificent. it's worked for the past 4.5 years.

my gyno was very understanding about it. i pointed out i realize pms isn't going to be happy fun time, but i think there's a problem when it interferes with my day-to-day activities. she agreed and said she felt i could really benefit from treatment, that even women with milder pms could probably benefit from it.

she said i could take those pills that only give you your period once every three months, thereby reducing pms time. these are very creepy to me. i don't know why, but the fact it's so unnatural seems dangerous.

then she suggested something i really wasn't expecting: anti-depressants. my mom had told me she started taking lexapro and that it helped immensely. i didn't realize it was an anti-depressant, though. (i'm out of touch with the drug world these days.) i just assumed they were a different pill, despite the fact i remember having this lengthy conversation with my mom about the side effects of anti-depressants and my experiences with them.

so my gyno broke out a package of birth control to show me when to take it: on the 10th day of pills, two weeks before i start bleeding. eerily enough, that day happens to be today.

i took the first one around 5:30, then fell asleep until 9:30. when i woke up, i felt extremely nauseous. i ate a grilled cheese and a couple french fries, but it hasn't gotten much better. pills always make me sick to my stomach. when i took effexor, it made me actually puke.

so i guess i'll wait and see what these do. my gyno asked if i had experience with anti-depressants, so i had to tell her about my various disorders and my two medicated years. she said to be aware of any side effects, particularly mania. that's one of the reasons i dislike taking pills so much, the false mania i experience. i would be hyper but then at the same time feel exhausted. i don't like that. my real mania isn't necessarily "hyper," just more energetic. and despite the fact i only sleep a couple of hours a night, i'm rarely tired. i don't remember having my weird little delusions with my pills, so i guess that's god.

well, anyway, i should be going to bed for good. owen's car is in the shop having the transmission rebuilt, so he's taking me to work on his way to work. which means i have to get up at 4:30 a.m. and be at work for two hours before my shift starts. blargh.

day 10. hopefully that's when i'll become reasonable rather than looney. just like old times, except with brand new forms of misbehavior.

<3, chels

prev - next