a passing woman in the mall said "bless you" when i sneezed (:
posted on December 12, 2003 @ 6:02 pm

the other night i met jennifer and sylvia at kerbey lane. sylvia told us stories of people dying at disney world. it was a warming experience.

i fell asleep this morning at 2:30. i began the process of getting undressed and de-accessorized, but after taking off my shoes and jeans i didn't have the energy to do anything else. i curled up otherwise fully-clothed with glasses, rings, and earrings (that's a hazard when they're so long and rip-out-able) and awoke to zach shields, a weather guy. at first i thought it was the news re-run at 1:00 a.m., but then i remembered i fell asleep after that. after thinking, oh my god, is it five?!, i opened my eyes to see that it was actually 5:14 a.m. after a fit of coughing i de-accessorized and got undressed, covered myself in mentholatem (sp?), turned the lights and tv off and "set the ray to jerry" (pumpkins) on repeat, and crawled into bed.

i dozed fitfully, having a hard time breathing through my right nostril and not breathing at all through the left. finally around 5:30/:45 i got out of bed. i noticed jennifer's light was on, so i went to see her. her alarm (talk radio) was going and i saw her move, so i poked her head. i stood there with a piece of toilet paper in my left nostril (when i stand up, the snot floods out) complaining about not being able to sleep. she thanked me for waking her up, then got back under her blanket and fell back to sleep*.

all right, then. i still couldn't breathe, so i headed downstairs to get the cough drops out of my purse. i ate two hugs for comfort and sat on the futon sucking on my cough drop. tima crawled in my lap, sniffing at my menthol-ly chest (my pajama top was half open because i was in a hot cycle; i go back and forth between hot and cold) and then started licking my chest. as flattering as someone licking your chest can be, it's not quite as much when it's your cat. plus she could get sick from eating that stuff, you know.

i grabbed another cough drop at 6:00 and went back to bed. as i lay there i almost started crying because no matter how much goo i put on my chest and nose, and despite the fact i was eating cough drops like candy, i could. not. breathe. when tears actually formed, i tried calling mom at work (she gets there around 6:00), but loretta told me she had the day off. blah. then i heard some asshole blaring tejano in the complex next to us. i took it as long as i could, rose to slam the window shut, then somehow managed to drift away, waking intermittently and fighting the urge to cry.

at 9:30 a.m. jennifer opens my door, "chelsea! :door shuts: i'm in your room! look, i'm louis! i broke your door! :hits door:" my head, as it is now, was throbbing, and opening my eyes caused too much pain. i moaned, to which she replied, "we should go get your oil changed and go to wal-mart and buy presents and go to toys r us and buy presents!" commence more moaning (it's about 50% of my verbal utterances now), and finally i'm able to speak. i asked her to give me two squares of toilet paper (we both yelled, "you can't spare a square!") in order to do some damage control. i put them in my left nostril then sat up, still able to feel the snot rushing forth from my sinuses. after a bit i took it out, and this massive glob connected the tissue and my nose. needless to say, i quickly replaced it and got ready around the protruding paper.

eventually, around 11:15, we left for my oil change and tire rotation. we had to go way the fuck out because they were doing oil changes for only $15.98, plus wal-mart is pretty near there. the guy asks me what brand of oil instead of what grade i'd been using, so he goes off about 10w-30 and something about winter weather, and ended up charging me an extra three dollars. i felt very discriminated against and very stupid, but this illness has gotten me so fucking pissy i don't even want to deal with confrontation. i stood at the counter waiting for him to come back, complaining to jennifer about how that doesn't cost any more or do any more because it's the same shit i've always used.

anyway, who the fuck cares about that. we cashed her checks, went to wal-mart (where i had to sit down after walking around for half an hour, how invalid of me), bought sarah the most awesome bueno nacho rufus (it was only $3, i almost got one, too) and doug these bendy toys of jeff gordon and mark martin (which is just the same, except, you know, mark). jennifer bought me the "ultimate edition" of dirty dancing on dvd, but she says it's for xmas and i can't open it. ;( :purrs: dirty dancing...

it's been raining all day, so traffic is terrible. i'm in a very negative mood and want to just fucking punch my customers in the face. i was able to let out some hostility jokingly:

guy: "i don't trust that machine. :pause: how are you doing?"
me: "i'm sick. i think i have the flu. want me to cough on your ticket?"
guy: "uh, no? i'll end up getting sick eventually anyway, so i guess it doesn't really matter."

last night when i got home, sylvia was there. i plopped onto the futon next to her, coughing, and she asked if i was okay. jennifer responded quietly, "i think she has the flu," as i caught my breath. for some reason it struck me as so motherly. i'm an odd one, especially considering how disoriented i am. i want to drink an entire bottle of nyquil tonight; i will start crying if i only get three hours of sleep for the third night in a row. i wonder if i can combine that and the drugs i'm taking.

so far i've gotten two compliments on my new necklace, one for a ring, two for my watch, one for some earrings, and a girl and i just had a conversation about how dangerous the sanrio store is (i'm wearing my hello kitty bandana). at layla's* i was consulting her about her outfit possibilities. i'm telling you, if i could fit into those little clothes, i'd be the coolest-looking fucking person ever. alas, for now i must rely on my accessories and give advice to the cute people. damn my fashion knowledge!


:: how nintendo are you? ::

kyle: "i have a problem. my penis is very large, and i was wondering if you could tell me where to put it."
me: "i'm sorry, i don't believe you."

*these pictures were not taken at the time mentioned, just sos you know.

prev - next