ah, l'hiver
posted on December 10, 2003 @ 4:18 pm

"the district sleeps alone tonight," postal service
"in the waiting line," zero 7
"born slippery (remix)," underworld
"born too slow," crystal method

viruses have consumed my body. sitting here beneath the flourescent lights and flurry of dust, the blood beating furiously against the walls of my constricted blood vessels creates a rhythmic pulsing against my skin. my eyelids reach for each other and ache with each attempt thwarted by my responsibility to stay alert at work. each sniff sets my sinuses aflame. the strong-willed walls of my esophagus tighten and strain to remain open to no avail, and with every cloud of cancerous smoke burning its way to my lungs i feel my throat reddening and swelling further. my bronchial tubes, suctioned together by mucus, hurl shards of glass upward to irritate the muscles in both directions. turning my head to the left i feel pain radiate from my numb ear down to my shoulder, and with every prod to my sternocleidomastoid i wince in pain yet wait for alleviation.

two viruses ultimately resulting in pain and discomfort. in hopes of good news ["you don't have bells palsy"] and a remedy ["take these three times a day with a meal or some milk"], i'll travel to the diagnostic clinic at 715 w. 34th, insurance card in hand.

to quote myself, "when i woke up i felt half dead. now i feel 75% dead." (oakes 2003) the customer behind layla looked a bit uneasy upon hearing this.

prev - next