this isn't your email, but i don't feel like rephrasing it in any way
posted on December 08, 2003 @ 11:16 pm

oh how super exciting, i think i have bells palsy. my mom's had it twice, on a different side of the face each time thankfully (if it happens more than once on one side, there's a greater risk of your muscles not correcting themselves). i noticed my right ear was feeling a little tingly-numb on saturday night, and it's pretty much completely numb now and spreading down my jawline. the top of the right side of my lip (you know, the pointy part) is beginning to feel tingly when my lip is spread over my teeth, and the corner of my right eye is getting that tingly-numb feeling, which is worse when i blink. it's really hard to wiggly my right ear, too, and i can't do it quickly like i do my left one. my sister's doctor said it's not hereditary, so i think it's bad karma for use teasing mom when she had it. she said she had to take steroids, and it lasted two weeks the first time, a little longer the second. the second time it started in her ear and went to her lip.

argh.

sarah's doctor (who, incidentally, used to be mine, the one who insisted on gagging me with a strep test every time i visited) said if it happened on both sides of the face at once, one could get muscular distrophy. also, i got a ticket for parking in a place on campus i construed as legal. thankfully, i work here and realize there are no consequences if you don't pay the tickets. ;)

mom said not to stress, that it would only worsen it, but of course i am. and of course thinking about it is making my cheek feel tingly, too. i'm not sure if it's real, but we'll see. i've got to find a doctor to visit tomorrow.

send me un-numbing vibes. :( i realize ultimately this isn't a big deal, but i don't want to be numb and droopy-faced for two weeks.

quote of the day: "maybe you're just having a mild stroke." -layla

p.s.: my stomach is killing me. i don't know what kind of pain this is.

prev - next