look at me, i can write a melody, but i can't expect a soul to care
posted on January 14, 2003 @ 2:41 am

"cities in dust;" "christine," siouxsie and the banshees

well, sunday night when i was all upset and depressed, frank came over. we ended up driving around for an hour and sitting in my apartment talking til 4:30. it made me a lot less depressed, just having someone around. i'm going to be really pissed off if it rains next weekend. i've got to get my oil changed; travis (my car) is running so funny. frank made me a copy of a built to spill album he was playing sunday, and i'm glad cause i couldn't find all the songs on kazaa.

today wasn't so bad. i didn't got to my 10:00 - noon class because it's a lab, and what are we supposed to lab over if we haven't had class? it doesn't start til the 27th so i discovered. so today i had chaucer from noon - 1:00, english grammar from 1:00 - 2:00, and physical anthropology from 2:00 - 3:00.

my chaucer prof, twombly (hehe) says interesting things but not in an interesting fashion, you know? plus i was all uncomfortable because my nose was runny and i was sniffing every two seconds. when i got in like one minute late, i had to dig through some people to get to a seat. a guy helped me move some seats and took my syllabus from the prof when i didn't realize he was behind me waiting. so i got a smile out of him; that was nice. a guy from my middle english class is in there, the one with long hair and checked shoes. he's pretty cute. we're going to have an assignment due toward the end of the semester writing two pages of rhyming iambic pentameter in middle english. since chaucer never wrote an epilogue or a tale for the tavern keeper to recite, we have to do one or the other. he said who did the best could get a free meal like in the canterbury tales. now i'm all avid over winning; that's how i am when it comes to writing. it shouldn't be too terribly hard since chaucer didn't start writing them until 1370; by the 1500s we start classifying it as modern english. jenn said i should start now, which is what i had considered. i figure i'll write some basic stuff in modern english, just to get the idea of what it'll be.

underwood teaches my grammar class, and as i had read off of the tables he does seem to be good. he said he'll be five minutes late to class because he knows it's impossible to cross campus in ten minutes. he talked about the old english verbs weton and cn�wen, and i was so hoping he'd ask if someone knew what they were. he didn't, though, so i had to beam from the inside. i need to take old english. just one semester is sort of dumb, though. i should find a university that will actually teach me this stuff. we're going to have a project due at the end of the semester, analyzing a sentence, on which we must work with a partner. :pouts: i don't want to work with anyone because 1) i know no one and 2) i don't want to have to consider someone else's opinions when dealing with my work.

i saw bryan coming out of the classroom i was entering for grammar, after having seen shab on my way to chaucer, and before seeing aaron and stephanie on my way to anthropology. i also saw a guy in my poesis class last spring, but i'm sure he doesn't remember me. i guess now i'll be constantly bumping into the liberal arts people like i was the natural sciences people on the other side of campus.

there was this girl and this guy sitting across from me on the bus on my way home, and their conversation was just so funny. the guy was talking about someone who called about his posting a need for a roommate. it was a prank call, and all the things he said were just weird. the girl (who, incidentally, is in my grammar class) was like, "it was probably rob halford. 'hello, this is mr. halford. do you work out? i give great massages.'" it took a lot from within me not to laugh at what all they were saying.

and work was work. not that much going on. nina said PG5 sold over $10,000 worth in permits before 4:00 p.m. that's so crazy. oh damn, i didn't realize it was almost 3:00 a.m. i'm going to go get into bed and read grammar.

"could it bring somebody down if i never made a sound again?"
<3, chelsea.

prev - next