people always laugh when i talk to animals
posted on December 19, 2002 @ 7:07 pm

"come to daddy," aphex twin
"you," mustard plug
"the taste of ink," the used
"saints and sailors," dashboard
"gotta get thru this," david bedingfield
"glycerine," bush

that's an interesting combination of songs.

Primary Ability:
Beastspeaker
Beastspeakers are gifted with the enviable ability to communicate with the animals around them. Most Beastspeakers are genuine people, and tend to enjoy time in the open air, instead of inside doing mundane chores. In general, Beastspeakers love the environment almost as much as they love their animals and friends.
Secondary Ability:
Empath
Empaths posess the ability to feel the emotions of others. They are gentle people, who encourage and nurture others. They percieve the world with their hearts and not with their minds. Empaths make great friends because they understand people.
What is your Misfit Talent?

i wrote about this when i was a sophomore in creative writing, but since i'm at work you'll have to read the bastardized shortened, non-descript version.

once i was walking on this trail behind my house with my sister. i saw a bird in a drainage ditch, but he wasn't moving. i dropped a twig beside him, but still he remained still. i carefully maneuvered down the almost vertical mud hill and strattled the ditch. this took me quite a while. the entire time my sister is freaking and telling me, "you better not die! if you do, i'm telling mom!" she was six i think.

as i reached the bird and nearly fell an endless amount of times due to mud, slipping rocks, etc., i realized he was, literally, stuck between a rock and a hard place. i pet him then moved the rock to find that one of his legs was hanging by a tendon. he sat so still, watching me. i picked him up, cradling him in my hands so his leg wasn't strained moreso. i had tears in my eyes, and i stood there for a very long time looking into his eyes, listening to my sister complaining about how if i died she'd be there all alone and it was getting dark. but it felt like everything else was just gone, and that bird and myself were the only things around. my hands were open, so he could have easily flown away. instead he lay looking into my eyes. i told him i was sorry he had to endure that, but that he'd be okay now because i was going to get him better. i'd take him to the vet and keep him until he was well enough to live alone again. he made the faintest little noise with his mouth. i don't even remember how long i stood there holding him and talking to him. finally i told him i was going to put him on the trail and climb out.

i placed him above me on the trail and warned my sister she better not so much as breathe in his general direction. when i was about half-way out of the ditch, sarah rustled some leaves, and he flew away. i yelled at sarah, and we walked around looking for him briefly but to no avail.

once a squirrel ate some ice cream off of my spoon. i petted him, but when someone else tried to he ran away.

and, of course, my recent personal favorite that's happened twice:
me: :sneeze:
tima (one of my cats): :meow:
me: "thank you, ma'am."
tima: :meow:

incidents like that make me feel special.

prev - next